NIST announced Keccak as the winner of the SHA-3 Cryptographic Hash Algorithm Competition and the new SHA-3 hash algorithm in a press release issued on October 2, 2012.
Keccak was designed by a team of cryptographers from Belgium and Italy, they are:

  • Guido Bertoni (Italy) of STMicroelectronics,
  • Joan Daemen (Belgium) of STMicroelectronics,
  • MichaĆ«l Peeters (Belgium) of NXP Semiconductors, and
  • Gilles Van Assche (Belgium) of STMicroelectronics.

A more detailed announcement is available here. This selection marks the end of the SHA-3 competition. A report on the final round of the competition is available here.